CHICAGO (December 1, 2011) - In its 27th year of honoring the nation's best high school athletes,, The Gatorade Company, in collaboration with ESPNHS, today announced Jordan Roberts of Sheridan High School as its 2011-12 Gatorade Wyoming Football Player of the Year. Roberts is the fifth Gatorade Wyoming Football Player of the Year to be chosen from Sheridan High School.

The award, which recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the field, distinguishes Roberts as Wyoming's best high school football player. Now a finalist for the prestigious Gatorade National Football Player of the Year award announced in December, Roberts joins an elite alumni association of past state award-winners in 12 sports, including Mark Sanchez (2004-05, Mission Viejo HS, Calif.), Wes Welker (1999-00, Heritage Hall HS, Okla.), Terrell Suggs (1999-00, Hamilton HS, Ariz.), Anquan Boldin (1998-99, Pahokee HS, Fla.) and Jerome Bettis (1989-90, Mackenzie HS, Mich.).

The 5-foot-11, 193-pound senior running back led the Broncs to an 11-1 record and the Class 4A state championship this past season. Roberts rushed for 2,688 yards and 38 touchdowns on 308 carries. He was also the 4A Offensive Player of the Year.

Roberts has maintained a 3.61 GPA in the classroom. A dedicated member of his church community, he has volunteered locally on behalf of youth sports programs and school anti-drug initiatives, and has donated his time assisting disabled individuals with Rehabilitation Enterprises of North Eastern Wyoming.

"Roberts has great vision on the field and he plays really hard." said Jon Vance, head coach of rival Kelly Walsh High. "He's a very strong player too. He's hard to bring down when he's got the ball."

Roberts remains undecided upon a collegiate destination.

Roberts joins recent Gatorade Wyoming Football Players of the Year Jim Shellenberger (2010-11, Natrona County High School) Austin Woodward (2009-10, Sheridan), Tommy Earl (2008-09, Natrona County High School) and Alex Stratton (2007-08, Cheyenne East) among the state's list of former award winners.