Back in the 2008 4A semi-finals, Douglas rolled the dice against Powell and converted a 2-point play to win the game.

They would try it again in the 2011 3A title game, but this time the Panthers were ready for the Bearcats.

The Powell Panthers intercepted a Douglas 2pt conversion attempt with :15 seconds left to play in regulation and won the 3A title 15 to 14.

Powell scored on a 50 yard TD pass from Josh Cragoe to Duane Schwan with 6:32 left to play.   Douglas then took the ensuing kick off and drove73 yards and 13 plays and scored on 4th down on a 3 yard TD pass from Luke Andrews to Braidy Parks.  That came with :15 seconds on the clock in the fourth.   After a time out, the Bearcats went for 2.   Olie Olsen would intercept a pass in the endzone to keep Powell up 15 to 14.  The onsides kick was recovered by Powell and they win it,  15 to 14.  Their first title since 2006.

Tanner Miller led Douglas with 34 carries  284 yards. Josh Cragoe led Powell with 87 yards rushing and 156 yards passing and a TD. Powell was outgained 420 to 332 but score on drives of 96 and 98 yards to win. 2 INT's by the Panther defense helped some as well.

Brendon Phister had 17 tackles for the Panthers, and Vince Sleep chipped in with 16.



Powell Coach Jim Stringer

Josh Cragoe Powell #10

Olie Olsen Powell #7