The Wyoming Chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame held it 18th Annual Scholar-Athlete Awards Banquet on Saturday evening, March 17, 2012, at the UW Conference Center at the Hilton Garden Inn, Laramie, Wyoming.

Ernie Over served as Master of Ceremonies for the event which was attended by 350 people and featured comments by University of Wyoming Head Football Coach Dave Christensen and keynote speaker Randy Welniak, Senior Associate Athletic Director at the University of Wyoming.

A total of $16,800 in scholarships was awarded with each finalist receiving a $1,200 scholarship to the school of their choice.

Cooper Wise, 3A Back from Powell High School was named the Top Scholar-Athlete and received and additional $1,200 scholarship.

During the past eighteen years the Wyoming Chapter has awarded $220,950 in scholarships to student athletes representing 58 of the 63 Wyoming High Schools that play football and the University of Wyoming.

The twelve scholar-athlete finalists had an average Grade Point Average of 3.77 and include two class valedictorians, two student body presidents and one vice-president, three class presidents, two National Honor Society presidents, and three Eagle Scouts.

This year’s scholar-athlete finalists include:

Daniel Wille, 1A-6 Man Lineman from Little Snake River Valley High School,

Mitchell Baker, 1A-6 Man Back from Dubois High School,

Tyler Williamson, 1A Lineman from Riverside High School,

Mike Miller, 1A Back from Riverside High School,

Bronson Teichert, 1A Back from Cokeville High School,

Austin Bolin, 2A Lineman from Tongue River High School,

Mark Grant, 2A Back from Lovell High School,

Zach Lurz, 3A Lineman from Torrington High School,

Cooper Wise, 3A Back from Powell High School,

Jake Thomas, 4A Lineman from Natrona County High School,

Jordan Roberts, 4A Back from Sheridan High School,

Clayton Kirven, Lineman, University of Wyoming.

Special Scholarship Recipients:

Skyler Bloom, 3A Back, Green River High School

Kerry Schinkel ll, 3A Back, Rawlins High School

Other award recipients include:

Greatest University of Wyoming Football Fans-Jim & Carla Cole, Laramie; and Murph & Lori Roberts, Kemmerer.

Greatest Wyoming High School Football Fans-David Fink, Powell; and Tempe Murphy, Sheridan.

Outstanding Contribution to Amateur Football-Michael “Mad Dog” Aanonsen, Laramie; T.J. Claunch, Casper; Dan Kelly, Casper; and Brad Menzel, Casper.

Ox Zellner Football Official Career Achievement Award-Myron Heny, Powell;

Football Coach Career Achievement Award-Mike Lopiccolo, Rock Springs.

Thanks to the Wyoming Chapter of the National Football Foundation for the information.