They've been competitors since their freshman year, or earlier, and their hard work has not only paid off again, it's put them at the top of the graduating class of 2016.

Zach Taylor of Gillette and Robbi Ryan of Sheridan were named the boys and girls winner of the 2016 Milward-Simpson award.

The award is named after Milward Simpson who was the team captain for the University of Wyoming football, basketball and baseball teams, and earned varsity letters in each sport from 1917-1921.

He later served as Wyoming Governor from 1954-58 and as a U.S. Senator from 1962-67.

It is given out to the best overall high school athlete of each graduating class.

2016 is the 41st year for the award.

Taylor participated in football, wrestling and track and field during his career with CCHS. In football, he won all-state honors twice and is heading to the University of Wyoming on a football scholarship. He also played in the 2016 Shrine Bowl football game. In wrestling, he won all-state honors twice, including a state championship at 220 lbs. in his senior season. In Track and Field, he won the 4A Shot Put in his senior season.

Ryan won all-state honors 4 times in basketball, 3 times in volleyball and twice in soccer. She won the Gatorade Player of the Year Award in Girls Basketball in both her junior and senior season, and won the Gatorade Player of the Year Award in her senior season of soccer. She was named Ms. Wyoming Basketball 2016 and will attend Arizona State University on a basketball scholarship.