Tevis Bartlett of Cheyenne East High School is the 2013-14 Gatorade Wyoming Football Player of the Year.

CHICAGO (December 5, 2013) — In its 29th year of honoring the nation’s best high school athletes, The Gatorade Company, in collaboration with USA TODAY High School Sports, announced Tevis Bartlett of Cheyenne East High School as its 2013-14 Gatorade Wyoming Football Player of the Year.

Bartlett is the fourth Gatorade Wyoming Football Player of the Year to be chosen from Cheyenne East High School.

The award, which recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the field, distinguishes Bartlett as Wyoming’s best high school football player.

Now a finalist for the prestigious Gatorade National Football Player of the Year award announced in December, Bartlett joins an elite alumni association of past state award-winners in 12 sports, including Mark Sanchez (2004-05, Mission Viejo HS, Calif.), Wes Welker (1999-00, Heritage Hall HS, Okla.), Terrell Suggs (1999-00, Hamilton HS, Ariz.), Anquan Boldin (1998-99, Pahokee HS, Fla.) and Jerome Bettis (1989-90, Mackenzie HS, Mich.).

The 6-foot-4, 215-pound junior quarterback and safety led the Thunderbirds to a 10-2 record and the Class 4A state championship this past season.

Bartlett led Class 4A with 1,400 yards and 19 touchdowns rushing on 230 carries.

He also passed for 1,521 yards and 13 TDs, while amassing 57 solo tackles and 30 assisted tackles on defense.

Also the Class 4A Offensive Player of the Year, he was selected to the Casper Star-Tribune Super 25 team.

Bartlett has maintained a 4.0 GPA in the classroom.

A state champion wrestler, he has volunteered locally as an elementary school mentor.

“Bartlett is a great player,” said Don Julian, head coach at Sheridan High. “He’s a tough, hard-nosed kid and he plays great on both sides of the ball.”

Bartlett will begin his senior year of high school next fall.

The Gatorade Player of the Year program annually recognizes one winner in the District of Columbia and each of the 50 states that sanction high school football, girls volleyball, boys and girls cross country, boys and girls basketball, boys and girls soccer, baseball, softball, and boys and girls track & field, and awards one National Player of the Year in each sport.

The selection process is administered by the Gatorade high school sports leadership team in partnership with USA TODAY High School Sports, which work with top sport-specific experts and a media advisory board of accomplished, veteran prep sports journalists to determine the state winners in each sport.

Bartlett joins recent Gatorade Wyoming Football Players of the Year Brecken Biggs (2012-2013, Natrona County High School), Jordan Roberts (2011-12, Sheridan High School), Jim Shellenberger (2010-11, Natrona County High School), Austin Woodward (2009-10, Sheridan), Tommy Earl (2008-09, Natrona County High School) and Alex Stratton (2007-08, Cheyenne East) among the state’s list of former award winners.