The best overall athletes from the graduating class of 2014 have been named.

Ricky Faure of Rock Springs and Avery Madden of Torrington have been named the boys and girls winners of the 2014 Milward Simpson Award.

The award is considered to be the highest honor that an athlete can receive, because they excelled in multiple sports in all four years of their high school career.

Ricky Faure - Rock Springs:

Faure won 7 all-state awards in cross-country and track, as well as 3 all-conference titles.

He set a new overall Wyoming high school state record in the boys 800 meter run in May 2014, with a time of 1 minute 48.14 seconds, which is currently the fastest in the nation for 2014, and 5th best high school time in history. (Click here to watch Faure's 800 meter run from Day 2 of the 2014 State Track meet)

He also set a new overall Wyoming high school state record in the boys 1600 meter run, with a time of 4 minutes 14.20 seconds.

Faure has been invited to compete in the Adidas Dream Mile Race in New York this summer.

During his time at Rock Springs High School, he won 14 individual and 2 relay state titles in track and field and in cross county.

Faure won the Gatorade Cross Country Runner of the Year award during his junior year in fall 2012.

He will attend the University of Wyoming on a track scholarship.

Faure is the 2nd Milward Simpson Award winner from Rock Springs. The award was first handed out in 1976, and Gerald Mattinson won it in 1977.

Avery Madden - Torrington:

Madden won 12 varsity letters, 9 all-conference and 6 all-state awards in volleyball, basketball, and track.

In volleyball, she was a 4-year starter, 2-time all-state selection, plus helped the Lady TrailBlazers win their first state title in school history in her junior year in 2012, and in 2013 she led Class 3A for most kills per game.

In basketball, Madden won 2 all-conference awards and 1 all-state award.

In track, she competed in the Wyoming Track Classic all 4 years, won 7 all-state certificates, and broke the school record in triple jump 5 times, and the long jump once.

Madden is going to the University of Wyoming and is considering a track career.

She is the second Milward Simpson Award winner from Torrington in 3 years (Mikayla Brower 2012). Margaret Gonzalez also won it for Torrington back in 1978.