Winning the prestigious Milward Simpson Award puts a student-athlete into a distinct category. You're now part of Wyoming prep athletics history.

This honor is held in the highest regard around the Cowboy State.

This year's winners, Jordan Stoddard of Southeast High School and Cam Burkett from Kelly Walsh High School, were very humble in their reaction to joining a rather elite group of previous winners in state history.

WyoPreps logo
Get our free mobile app

One of the more enjoyable parts of the awards ceremony is listening to Pete Simpson and Senator Al Simpson reflect on their dad's legacy and share some of their stories growing up with Milward as their father, along with some wisdom for the finalists.

Simpson Award Committee co-chairs Dale Ann Meeker and Rob Cragoe co-hosted the ceremony and were assisted by Jenelle Andrade, a former Simpson Award winner from 1987. Cragoe was the first male award winner in 1976. Cragoe also announced this year's winners, while Meeker summed up what it means to be one of the finalists.

A couple of other Simpson Award committee members were also in attendance last Saturday.

47th Annual Milward Simpson Awards Banquet

Milward Simpson Awards, Wyoming

More From WyoPreps