The National High School Athletic Coaches Association (NHSACA) and the Wyoming Coaches Association (WCA) are pleased to announce that 9 Wyoming coaches have been chosen as finalists for the National High School Athletic Coaches Association National Coach of the Year for 2018.

NHSACA is the oldest coaches association in the nation and has been recognizing national coaches of the year since 1978.

The following Wyoming coaches have been selected as some of the best coaches in the United States in their respective sports:

Bryan Coventry - Kelly Walsh High School Assistant Boys’ COTY

Christina Mills - Shoshoni High School Assistant Girls’ COTY

Mitch Holst - Campbell County High School Girls’ Basketball

Ty Draney - Star Valley High School Boys’ Cross Country

Steve Harshman - Natrona County High School Football

Phil Rehard - Campbell County High School Swimming & Diving

Norm Sedig - Cody High School Tennis

Wenett Martin - Thunder Basin High School Volleyball

Tom Seamans - Campbell County High School Wrestling

Each of these Wyoming coaches will join seven other regional finalists from across the nation, in nineteen recognized sports categories, to be honored during the National Coach of the Year Awards Banquet at the NHSACA’s national convention in Sioux Falls, SD on the evening of June 27, 2018.

The highlight of the banquet will be the naming of the NHSACA National Coach of the Year in each of the nineteen classifications.

All Wyoming coaches were nominated for this national honor by the Wyoming Coaches Association.

The selection is based on longevity, service to high school athletics, honors, championship years, and winning percentage.

The nominees and finalists are evaluated by experts in the field of coaching using a sport-specific rubric that assigns points in each category.

More From WyoPreps