The assistant coaches in the 49th annual Wyoming Shrine Bowl All-Star Football game were selected for this summer’s game.

Wyoming Shrine Bowl Executive Director Frank Selby released the information late Monday night.

North Team head coach Trent Pikula of Thunder Basin High School chose Jason Gill from Thunder Basin in Gillette, Buffalo’s Rob Hammond, Big Horn’s Kirk McLaughlin, Richard Despain from Rocky Mountain High School in Cowley, and Boz Backen of Hulett to join his staff.

South Team head coach Mark Lenhardt, from Rock Springs, picked Blaine Christensen of Rock Springs, Jay Rhoades from Douglas, Torrington’s Robb Nicolay, Brandon Gifford from Lingle-Ft. Laramie and Encampment’s Keegan Willford to be part of his coaching staff.

WyoPreps logo
Get our free mobile app

Many of these assistant coaches will be serving in their first year with the Wyoming Shrine Bowl.

The next step for these two coaching staffs is to review player nominations submitted by high school coaches around Wyoming. This year’s nominations exceed 150 players. Once both squads have been finalized, the 36-man team rosters will be released in the coming weeks.

The Wyoming Shrine Bowl is for graduated seniors only. This year’s all-star football game is on Saturday, June 11, 2022, at Cheney Alumni Field, located at Natrona County High School in Casper.

Wyoming High School Sports of the Week Nov 12-13

Wyoming High School Sports of the Week Nov 12-13

More From WyoPreps