Coaching has its own reward, and a little extra recognition doesn't cause any harm.

Eleven Wyoming High School Coaches have been named as finalists for the National High School Athletic Coaches Association, National Coach of the Year, in their respective sport.

They are:

Rosie Brown, Natrona - Track & Field
Tom Rowley, Natrona - Boys Assistant
Nevin Jacobs, Powell - Girls Assistant
Nate Urbach, Powell - Wrestling
Mary Perkins, Torrington - Tennis
Mike Lashley, Lingle-Ft. Laramie - Track & Field
Briant Teichert, Cokeville - Girls Basketball
Greg Schabron, Laramie - Cross Country
Emily Tilden, Lander - Skiing
Bryan Chadderdon, Kelly Walsh - Boys Soccer
Jim Jenkins, Jackson - Swimming

This selection was based on longevity, service to high school athletics, honors, championship years, and winning parentage.

The nominees and finalists are evaluated by experts in the field of coaching using a sport-specific rubrics to assign points in each category.

The National High School Athletic Coaches Association is the oldest coaches association in the nation formed by coaches, for coaches, and has been recognizing national coaches of the year since 1978.

Eight finalists from across the nation will be honored during The National Coach of the Year Awards Banquet which will take place at the National High School Athletic Coaches Association’s national convention at the Kahler Grand Hotel in Minneapolis, MN on the evening of June 20, 2015.

The highlight of the banquet will be the naming of the NHSACA national coach of the year in nineteen recognized sports categories.