Six Wyoming coaches will be honored at the National High School Athletic Coaches Association annual convention next week in Nebraska.

There are four finalists from Wyoming for Coach of the Year honors, and two will be inducted into the NHSACA Hall of Fame. The convention is July 24 through July 27, 2023, in Lincoln, NE.

Gillette’s Mark Miessler and Wright’s Pat Neely are both part of the NHSACA Hall of Fame class for 2023.

Miessler has been a tennis coach at Campbell County High School in Gillette since 1995 when he started as the head boys’ coach. Miessler took over the girls’ program in 2000. He has led the Camels to 14 state championships and 52 individual state titles. Miessler also served as an assistant basketball coach at CCHS.

Neely is a longtime basketball and track coach at Wright High School. He has also shared Athletic Director duties at the school. Neely started his coaching career in 1984 in Laramie and has made stops at Riverside and Greybull. He’s won three state championships as a basketball head coach.

The Hall of Fame banquet is on Tuesday, July 25.

WyoPreps logo
Get our free mobile app

Four coaches from the state are nominated for Coach of the Year honors in their respective sports.

The finalists are Greg Schabron from Laramie High School for boys’ cross country, Maggie Kirkham of Cody High School for girls’ cross country, Josh Bott from Cheyenne Central High School for swimming & diving, and Jeff Barkell of Kelly Walsh High School for volleyball.

These four will be recognized on Thursday, July 27.

Congratulations to all!

Wyoming Coaches Association All-Star Picture Day

Wyoming Coaches Association All-Star Picture Day

More From WyoPreps