A total of 80 high school football seniors have been nominated for the Wyoming Chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame Scholar-Athlete Award in 2022.

The nominees come from 20 high schools around the state. Ten finalists, and two nominees from the University of Wyoming, will be honored with a $1,200 scholarship and have a chance to be named Wyoming’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year, who earns an additional $1,200 scholarship.

WyoPreps logo
Get our free mobile app

This year’s nominees are:

Big Horn – Cade Butler, Josh Thompson

Cheyenne East – Gavyn Aumiller, Gavin Goff, Matthew Jacquot, Landen LaRue, Brian Mead, Robert Pino, Caleb Pugh, Kaleb Romero, Braxton Rosner, Tucker Smith, Floyd Tatum, Zaudan Wawhkyung, Landon Whitt

Cody – Danny Becker, Kellon George, Drew Trotter, Jonathan Williams, Nathan Wilson

Cokeville – Treyson Dayton

Douglas – Jayden Archuleta, Kelton Ewing, Kyle Logar, Rylan Wehr

Encampment – Koye Gilbert

Green River – Dylan Taylor

Kemmerer – Matt McMillian, Tommy Skidmore

Meeteetse – Dace Bennett, Jonathan Blessing, Kalvin Erickson, Mickle Ogden

Moorcroft – Zane Linder

Natrona County – Kaleb Borud, Braden Cantrell, William Garlick, Tyler Hill, Ashton Nash, Brendyn Nelson, Roman Overstreet, Kaeden Wilcox

Newcastle – Slade Roberson

Pine Bluffs – Ty Sweeter

Powell – Toran Graham

Rock Springs – Brock Bider, Isaac Schoenfeld, Cadon Shaklee, Andrew Skorcz

Rocky Mountain – Tyson Christiansen

Sheridan – Carl Askins, Ezra Eckland, Rich Hall, Matthew Ingalls, Cody Kilpatrick, Tyler Omseth, Rudy Osborne, Caden Steel, Brock Steel, Jim Strobbe, Texas Tanner

Shoshoni – Braeden Cash, Duke Gibbel

Star Valley – Lucas Chappell

Sundance – Levi Rudloff

Thermopolis – Wyatt McDermott

Thunder Basin – Cade Ayers, Ryan Baker, Ethan Cox, Kolter DeKay, Justin Dennison, Isaiah Haliburton, McKale Holte, Ryan Jordan, Brandon Lanston, Aiden Mitchell, Caden Randall

Wheatland – Rodee Brow, Jake Hicks, Kade Preuit

The finalists will be announced in February.

Coaches nominate players with a GPA of 3.0 or better. The Scholar-Athlete Awards are based 40 percent on football, 40 percent on academic achievement, and 20 percent on extra-curricular activities and citizenship within a player’s school and community.

Last year's winner was Andrew Johnson from Cheyenne Central High School.

The Wyoming Chapter also presents awards for Courage and/or Perseverance to an athlete that has overcome serious injury or medical conditions. They also select residents in the state with an outstanding contribution to amateur football, the greatest UW and High School fans, a lifetime contribution to football officiating, and an outstanding assistant coach contribution.

High School Sports Pics of the Week Jan 14-15

High School Sports Pics of the Week Jan 14-15

More From WyoPreps