In the 285 pound division in 4A, A.J. Kelly of Rock Springs has won the state championship for the last two years. He knocked off Justin Vela of Sheridan 4-0 to go 16-0 on the year. Kelly is an all-state lineman for the Tiger football team and says wrestling and work in the line of scrimmage go hand in hand. Vela had a record of 27-3 so both guys were stellar this season. The 3rd place match in 4A had some real meaning and excitement as Natrona needed a win to secure the state championship and got that and more from D'Anthony Smith. He pinned Gavyn Aumiller of Cheyenne East and Natrona ended up beating Sheridan by 4 points for the team title. The Mustang faithful exploded at the result and Smith was 32-9 this season. Aumiller had a mark of 28-9. James Koenig of Cheyenne Central defeated Colter Rankin of Campbell County for 5th place.

In 3A, Lincoln Siebert of Burns-Pine Bluffs asserted himself and pinned Gabe Neild of Star Valley to win the heavyweight belt. Siebert was not going to be denied and won 37 of 40 matches this season. Neild finished the season at 16-5. Kyle Logar of Douglas capped the season with a fall over Cody Cunningham of Lander for 3rd place. Logar went 28-10 while Cunningham was 28-11. Finally in the 5th place match, the winner there was Koby Tigner or Worland who beat Dan Becker of Cody 7-0.

We have a short video of those 285 championship matches. Enjoy!

Get our free mobile app


CHECK THIS OUT: This Texas Home Boasts Its Own Beach And Zipline